Well well well… this ‘not planning thing’ has given me a very entertaining day, I had my first horse carriage ride and I enjoyed it a lot with my little cousin Dharti. She is visiting me from Baroda. She is 11 and we had a wonderful time. I took her to our dentist and we went to the garden and ended our day with Chinese food. Now tomorrow we’re heading for the Akhshardham in Gandhinangar. The typical things to do for out of town visitors in Ahmedabad right?

With all the fun out of doors, the best moments were when I read aloud a few stories to her in the noon. These cute, funny, silly yet remarkable short stories of Ramesh Paarekh, a Gujarati author were just pure joy. One of them was about a shirt pocket feeling lonely after a li’l boy discards a shirt. Children’s stories have a certain fantasy like element that really spins our imagination and takes us into a never never land of fun. Time spent with li’l cousins always feels like a day out of a children’s book. Ah, the wish to be a kid again…

