I just saw a French play, Le Temps Du Repli. There was hardly any dialogue, all music and mime, but it kind of disturbed me in strange ways. When I met its maker yesterday, he looked all serene yet strikingly unsettled. It was a play with existential theme. Something that has touched me deeply in past half a decade. Well, I’m an English lit student, I’m bound to be part existential.

Anyway, back to the play, I love the setting, the theater I mean. Natrani , an open air, classy theatre at the banks of Sabarmati river is a place owned by Mallika Sarabhai. (Scientist Vikram Sarabhai’s daughter) Last night I was surprised to see the huge crowd outside as generally a very small group turns up to watch activities here. I wasn’t sure what the performance was about. I was just the told French choreographer Josef Nadj has come, interview him on Sunday. I wanted to go to this play, very badly, whom shall i go with, a list of friends shot up in head. Most of them will somehow find time to come. But on second thoughts, I wanted to give it a shot, and see it alone. I went alone and without getting lost in that crowd i reached the first step (theatre just has steps to sit on). It’s like a small Shakespearean theatre.

No lights, but flashes of sound and flames from the stage. One percussionist, two actors. No language. But it spoke volumes. After an hour’s struggle I was sitting in horror with one hand clutching my head. Without consciousness of the surrounding I was lost in the performance. It had no story in particular. It just stirred the dearest story in the viewer’s heart and kindled with it.

I would write about my experience with Nadj later…

Glad I could get lost in the performance without being tempted to analyse it. You don’t need to critique everything you see…

