I’m not a fan of remixes. But I existed happily as they were part of my life only when I was channel surfing. I thought people remixed only RD Burman songs or some latest hit songs. These days, movies have three remixed versions of their stand alone song in the very album itself. DJs surely are a busy breed.
However, remixes hover over my head for nearly two hours everyday in the gym now. So far, I knew who releases such albums and who makes them. Now I also know who buys them and who plays them.
Alas, I have to be one of the person who listens to them. Unwillingly.
I have a few questions in mind for some ghastly remixes. Why are such songs being remixed which were never meant to ‘rock’. It is high time some people in the business realised that these songs were meant to ‘sooth’ and ‘please’ the ears and mind.

Here is the list of remixed songs that should have never suffered such a fate.

10. Tere Bina from Guru: When A R Rehman goes dum dar dum dara mastt mastt, your soul dances. But why does it have to be accompanied by the totally unfitting rock beats?
9. E Dil Mujhe Bata De Tu Kispe aa Gaya Hai: what was the mixing guy thinking?
8. Kahin Pe Nigahen – Is Shamshaad Beghum twisting and turning in her grave?
7. Inhi Logon Ne – Do they think a classic mujara from Pakeezah could be ideal for the dance floor?
6. Albela Sajan Ayo Re – Somebody actually remixed this!!
5. Kahin Deep Jale Khahi DilHemant Kumar composed it for his horror flick, Bees Saal Baad. If he could listen to the remixed version of it, I’m sure he’ll be horrified.
4. Chandan sa Badan – Poor Saraswatichandra singing this to his beloved with a rose in hands had no idea his song could face such a plight
3. Aaj Phir Jeene ki Tamanna Hai – Can somebody ‘Guide’ the DJ?
2. O Yara Sili Sili – ‘Lekinyeh gana to semi-classical jaisa hai na
1. Aap Ki Aankhon Mein Kuch Mehke Huese Raaz hai – I’m putting it on the top cause it’s one of my favourite romantic tracks. And how can they butcher a soft song like that with some random ‘dhin chak dhin chak‘?

Has a big chunk of society, youngsters or whoever goes to a gym or a disc gone so deaf? Why can’t we have just plain beats or new songs to go with them? How about sticking to some fast numbers from Teesri Manzil and Hum Kisi Se Kum Nahi?

Though I’m not a remix fan, I’m not against remixes either. But I wonder why are such people in the business when they do not even understand what should and shouldn’t be remixed? And to think of it, they get paid for doing this!

