Picking up Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol wasn’t an impulse buy. He is no J R Rowling to me. But I still felt the need to stay with the hype and make sure I don’t miss anything good in life. Turns out, I wasn’t missing anything that good.

To be precise, not giving out any inside details, Lost Symbol is just another typical Robert Langdon journey where he unwillingly unravels a mystery. This time he in Washington D.C. Dan Brown decided to stay in Langdon territory and hasn’t tried anything new. It is just a page out of Langdon’s life. Or rather 509 pages out of Langdon’s one night. It predictably has mishaps, a woman by his side, some old cunning light eyed chaps trying to trick the world and the rest that you’ve already seen.
It is ideal for fans, who want to read up something with familiar rush, but it doesn’t go beyond that. The content and even dialogue seem repetitive after a few pages. It surely doesn’t surpass the Da Vinci Code and the average affair kept reminding me of National Treasure’s version of Masonic treasure hunt. I also could easily visualize a younger Tom Hanks as Langdon. Tom Hanks always makes sense, anyhow. I’m sure no matter how well the book does, the movie version will be just around the corner.
And personally, I’m just glad it broke my reading pattern, I can peacefully get some work done now that it is over. I expected some kind of rush after finishing the book, but now I’m on a high because of another book. It is a Sony Vaio Netbook. I’m not a fan of vanity but I so loved this model, I convinced myself I needed it. Now till I get some serious work done on it, I won’t call it an impulse buy.
