There are memories and then there are special memories. Suddenly when my timeline started with RIPs for Dev Saab, a simple memory just turned special.

My first filmi article for Ahmedabad Times in early 2005 was all about when and if sequels will ever take off and boy they did. Krish, Dhoom, Sarkar and what not! Many people have been writing about sequels before and after this, but this one was written when they were considered to be DOOMED. Allow me some self-indulgence, I’m grieving. It has been a tough year for film buffs…

Anyway, what my mind fished out was my very brief interaction with Dev Anand for it. He said sequels will not succeed as long as people keep playing safe. He may not have succeeded with all his experiments, but he did try his hands at subjects that people shied away from.

What he told me at the time was good enough for my article. But it is a lot more than just the quote because he was the first celebrity (and of what stature!) I ever spoke to as a journalist. Friends and colleagues my age had no interest in him. He did have a glorious past, but no one was too interested in whatever he did in past 20 years. I looked him up for this particular article just because at that time, A Jewel Thief sequel had just happened. The minute I dialed the number, I was a bit nervous, now when I think of it… I’m retroactively starstruck…

His assistant just patched me through and the enthusiasm he showed to a TOI newbie calling him from a smaller city was no less than someone interviewing him for the BBC. I could use only about 100 words out of his 15 minutes of enthusiastic take. That friendliness pushed me into calling or talking to almost anyone and everyone…celebrity or not… When it comes to work, you can’t play safe all the time…

Right after that call… I called up dad and had a subdued scream at office: I just spoke to DEV ANAND…

Dad and I have cried together every time we watch Guide… we aren’t much fussed about how the book is better than the movie thing as long as the movie makes sense to us. We will cry over Guide some more in future whenever we watch it.

Don’t even get me started on his endless array of amazing songs and good looks and his contribution and all that. A lot is being written about it already.

Dev Anand won’t experiment anymore, but his persona and never say die attitude lives on…

