Credit: tageswoche.ch

When you already have a substantial story, the movie could be all about style. Joe Wright more or less tries to do the same thing. The ‘on stage’ kind of direction was bit tough to follow initially, but it felt more artistic once the story started to unfold. Most fans of the books predictably didn’t like this version also. I’ve read the book and some previous versions. Though I’m not a huge fan of the book, I don’t think this one is  anyway easy to translate on big screen.

Keira Knightley doesn’t an Anna Karenina make. I think they should have gone for Naomi Watts or Kate Winslet, but then the director, Joe Wright, of Atonement and Pride and Prejudice seems to be a huge Keira fan. Vronsky was also disappointing. But the content, dialogues were so mellowed down that the serious drama was more lighter to watch than reading the book. My personal favourite was Dohmnall Gleeson as Levin.

It would be wrong not to admit that I actually enjoyed watching this version of Anna Karenina, but a more mature cast would have improved it even more.

