When i decided to set a target of reading at least 50 books this year, there wasn’t a fixed list and a lot of YA books trickled in. I blame The Fault in our Stars that I’ve already listened to and read three times since past ten days, thanks to its compact size.

My April reading list looked something like this:

April reading list...
April reading list…

Divergent trilogy by Veronica Roth (It is so derivative from a lot of fantasy and dystopia pieces from the past few decades that one could easily play a ‘spot the inspiration’ game with the story.)

The Fault in our Stars  by John Green (This one is staying with me for a long long time. Augustus Waters and Hazel Grace are carved in my mind permanently. Yes I am a soppy teenager at heart, ‘Okay?’)

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn (Captivating, interesting dual narrative. The end is highly criticized, but I loved it. There is something about an open-ended cruel, chilling story…)

To Kill a Mockingbird (re-reading) by Harper Lee (As usual elevating.)

The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert (No fan of hers but the research is commendable, she should have kept some of it out of the book. Loved Alma Whittaker though.)

I use a combination of audio books and real books. My obsession with audio books has doubled this year since they are easy to stay hooked to while I’m otherwise occupied. Gilbert’s mammoth book was read while burning the midnight oil. It isn’t easy to keep up with the target keeping up with the scheduled deadlines for my articles, but I’m not going to let even a genuine reason be a hurdle this time till the end of the year.

My List for May is a bit tricky. But I’m pretty sure I’m up for the serious reading after the April full of YA.

Up for the coming month are Haruki Murakami’s Kafka on the Shore, Hemingway’s The First Forty Nine Short Stories, Monisha Rajesh’s Around India in 80 Trains, John Green’s Looking for Alaska and the long pending  Hilary Mantel’s Wolf Hall and Bring up the Bodies. (Nope there is no pattern here yet) I think except John Green’s Alaska, this list is a toughie. But as a birthday month, I’m generally in high spirit through May and am sure I can pull through.

PS: The passive consumption of online crap and blog writing hiatus is officially over. Expect more posts.

